NCBiotech Board of Directors

Board members share their global finance, executive, life sciences and academic experience to guide our activities. Better yet, they volunteer their time. Find out who these leaders are.

*Denotes executive committee member

Dr. Rebecca Alexander, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Wake Forest University

Mr. Peyton Anderson, MBA
Affinergy Inc.

Dr. Anthony (Tony) Atala, M.D.
Director, Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine; Professor and Chair Department of Urology
Wake Forest Baptist Health

Mr. John L. Atkins III, FAIA*
Chairman and CEO
O'Brien/Atkins Associates PA

Dr. Michelle Berrey, M.D.*

Mr. George B. Briggs
Executive Director
The North Carolina Arboretum

Dr. Lawrence Carin, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Research
Duke University

Mr. Tony Copeland
Secretary, Department of Commerce
State of North Carolina

Mr. Santo (Sandy) Costa*
Former President, CEO & Vice-Chairman

Mr. James (Jim) Datin
President and CEO
BioAgilytix Labs Inc.

Mr. Douglas Edgeton*
Assistant Secretary and Assistant Treasurer
President and CEO
North Carolina Biotechnology Center

Mr. Neal Fowler
Liquidia Technologies Inc.

Ms. Meredith Friga*
Ernst & Young LLP

Dr. Jay Golden
Vice Chancellor of Research, Economic Development and Engagement
East Carolina University

Mr. Frank Grainger
Fair Products Inc.

Mr. Peter Hans
North Carolina Community College System

Mr. Brent Harpham, MBA
Executive Director

North Carolina Community College System
BioNetwork Capstone Center

Mr. William (Bill) Hawkins III
Senior Advisor
EW Healthcare Partners

Dr. Undi Hoffler, Ph.D.
Director, Research Compliance & Technology Transfer
North Carolina Central University

The Honorable John Jackson Hunt
Emeritus Board Member

Dr. Daniel (Dan) Janies, Ph.D.
Bioinformatics Research Center
UNC Charlotte

Dr. Moise Khayrallah, Ph.D.
Emergo Therapeutics Inc.

Dr. Mary Klotman, M.D.
Duke University School of Medicine

Ms. Karen LeVert
CEO and Co-Founder
Ag TechInventures LLC

Dr. Steven A. Lommel*
William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor
Associate Dean for Research

College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
Director of NC Agricultural Research Service
North Carolina State University

Dr. Terry Magnuson, Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor, Research and Sarah Graham Kenan Professor of Genetics
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mr. Merrill Mason*
Smith Anderson

Mr. Adam Monroe
Panaceutics Inc.

Mr. Arthur M. Pappas*
Managing Partner
Pappas Capital

Ms. Joy Parr Drach*
President & CEO
Advanced Animal Diagnostics Inc.

Mr. Joshua L. Price
Patent Attorney
Novozymes North America Inc.

Mr. John C. Rabby*
Commercial Director, AgBiome Innovations
AgBiome Inc.

Dr. Jose (Zito) Sartarelli, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina Wilmington

Mr. Michael Tanner
NOAA Center for Weather and Climate

Mr. Benjamin P. Teague
Vice President, Strategic Development
Biltmore Farms

Mr. Steve Troxler
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Dr. Kimberly van Noort, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs
Chief Academic Officer

University of North Carolina System

Dr. Michael Van Scott
Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
East Carolina University

Dr. Bhaskar R. Venepalli, Ph.D., MBA, FRSC
President and CEO

Mr. Brad Wilson
Executive in Residence, Wake Forest University
CEO Emeritus, Blue Cross Blue Shield NC

Dr. Benjamin R. Yerxa, Ph.D.
Foundation Fighting Blindness


Board Staff:

Mr. William Pappas
Counsel and Assistant Secretary
Parker, Poe, Adams and Bernstein L.L.P.

Ms. Paltine Braxton
Senior Executive Assistant to Doug Edgeton
North Carolina Biotechnology Center